During the first half of the 20th century, Norfolk continued to grow as it annexed surrounding areas. Norfolk annexed land north of Atlantic City and along the Lafayette River in 1902. The development of this land coincided with the planning of the 1907 Jamestown Exposition. This was a celebration commemorating the 300th anniversary of the landing of the first permanent English settlers in Jamestown.
In 1903, Sterling Place Corporation purchased Peter March’s 166-acre farm for $150,000. George W. Dillard, the president of Sterling Place Corporation, occupied the first home completed in 1906. Sterling Place was originally called Colonial Place, but it was renamed in honor of the Jamestown Exposition.
In 1906, the Town of Berkley was annexed to the City of Norfolk, stretching the city limits across the Elizabeth River. The town and Beacon Light and Hardy Field neighborhoods were incorporated as boroughs. Five years later, in 1911, Lambert’s Point and Huntersville were annexed into Norfolk. This was the birthplace of Mary Pinckney Hardy, the mother of General Douglas MacArthur. S Main St. has a memorial to Mary Hardy MacArthur on the former Hardy family estate site.
These fascinating historical photos show what Norfolk, VA looked like in the 1900s.